Changing the currently running user binary

blubb
Posts: 73
Joined: Mon Jun 22, 2015 5:35 am

Changing the currently running user binary

Postby blubb » Fri Oct 13, 2017 7:04 am

Hi,

there are various boot modes which can be chosen by different GPIO voltage levels. Is there also a way to change the currently running user binary?

Let's assume I use OTA firmware updates. One day I accidentally upload a new version which has broken OTA support. Ooops. Now I cannot correct my mistake: The firmware has a correct checksum and it starts fine. So the bootloader will run it on every power on. What options do I have besides re-flashing the module?

It would be cool if there was a special GPIO setting to force either user1 or user2...

Her Majesty
Posts: 171
Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2014 11:09 am

Re: Changing the currently running user binary

Postby Her Majesty » Fri Oct 13, 2017 10:06 am

AFAIK, the latest boot.bin v1.7 can boot to another user.bin if the current one broke. For example, the system should run the user2.bin after OTA, but there is something wrong in the user2.bin. So when the system power on, the boot.bin will try to startup user2.bin at first, but it fails, and then the boot.bin will try to startup the original user1.bin instead.

blubb
Posts: 73
Joined: Mon Jun 22, 2015 5:35 am

Re: Changing the currently running user binary

Postby blubb » Fri Oct 13, 2017 4:54 pm

Yeah, but only if the new bin does not start at all. In the example I mentioned above, this wouldn't help.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 14 guests