Esp Mesh SSIDs

Hans Huber
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Jul 18, 2017 12:48 pm

Esp Mesh SSIDs

Postby Hans Huber » Sat Jul 22, 2017 5:05 am

Hello,
i have a question regarding Esp Mesh:
Does an existing mesh network create Wifi SSIDs that are shown by Wifi clients?
If so: Every node or only the root connected to AP ?
Thanks a lot

User avatar
pratik
Posts: 450
Joined: Wed Jun 29, 2016 7:17 pm
Location: India
Contact:

Re: Esp Mesh SSIDs

Postby pratik » Mon Jul 24, 2017 5:40 pm

The nodes are connected via STA and AP modes. So the mesh nodes show up with SSID prefixed with whatever mesh prefix you chose. This will happen if the node has other devices connected to it, or when in AP mode.
Regards,
Pratik Panda
Website: http://www.PratikPanda.com

Custom firmware, Knowledge base and freelancing (ESP8266/ESP32):
http://www.iot-bits.com

cartman18
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Jul 16, 2017 5:08 pm

Re: Esp Mesh SSIDs

Postby cartman18 » Tue Jul 25, 2017 4:49 am

Hi,
thank you for your answer.
I have one more question:
Is it possible to set all nodes to STA mode? (modem power save modes disabled)
So there are no SSID broadcasts "on the air"..
Thanks a lot

Lukas F.
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue May 02, 2017 8:59 pm

Re: Esp Mesh SSIDs

Postby Lukas F. » Tue Jul 25, 2017 4:04 pm

So to clarify things a bit:

1. The SSID of the node's networks is HIDDEN and not broadcasted. The nodes DON'T show up at all by default. It also seems to be impossible to change this behaviour with the code available from the mesh-SDK since any change done to the access-Point-configuration beforehand is overwritten by mesh_enable().
2. From my experience, it is not possible to connect to a mesh-node's sub-network from a non-mesh device like a mobile, etc.
3. Other than low power leafe-nodes, it is not possible to operate a mesh-node in station-mode only (since then no further ESP could connect to the node and no mesh could be spanned).

Best regards,

Lukas

Jamartox
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Sep 12, 2017 2:09 am

Esp Mesh SSIDs

Postby Jamartox » Fri Sep 15, 2017 1:21 am

If you are using dual radio mesh node, then there is created 1 vssid for uplink. You can create up to 15 vssid on service set radio, as in WILI-S software.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests