Page 1 of 1

How to use the wifi light sleep?

Posted: Thu Jul 27, 2017 8:46 am
by BearPeak
My project use idf is ESP8266_RTOS_SDK,but i don't know how to use the wifi light sleep .
It will get in light sleep auto when run the idle task or not ?
If the chip can get in sight sleep ,what is the current of the esp8266?

Re: How to use the wifi light sleep?

Posted: Mon Jul 31, 2017 2:17 pm
by pratik
Try this document:
http://www.espressif.com/sites/default/ ... ons_en.pdf

It will clarify on which sleep mode is best for your project.

Re: How to use the wifi light sleep?

Posted: Mon Jan 14, 2019 4:45 pm
by gladysjenkins2019
So do I need to add code lines in my setup to make sure the ESP is in client mode and light sleeping is enabled?

How to use the wifi light sleep

Posted: Sat Sep 14, 2019 10:37 pm
by Danfosvlfdcen
Haha the best Hot find, never knew about it either.
I still dont know how to competently use the music track/skip function on my M70. Rock On.

Re: How to use the wifi light sleep?

Posted: Sat Jan 25, 2020 11:23 pm
by John32
Visit site to know about discounts and prices. Order papers from an academic service and get rid of worries.

Re: How to use the wifi light sleep?

Posted: Thu Jan 30, 2020 7:01 pm
by newmancarl24
I came across this website https://qweetly.com. It contains so many free samples. I used them to do my college essay and got a high grade. I’ll use this platform again.

Re: How to use the wifi light sleep?

Posted: Fri Feb 07, 2020 1:58 pm
by Verolla
Wow thank you guys

Re: How to use the wifi light sleep?

Posted: Sat Feb 08, 2020 10:28 pm
by StanJ
gladysjenkins2019 wrote:So do I need to add code lines in my setup to make sure the ESP is in client mode and light sleeping is enabled?


Gladys, yes, Automatic Light Sleep is not enabled by default, only Automatic Modem Sleep, so you need to add the wifi_set_sleep_type(LIGHT_SLEEP_T) SDK call to enable Light Sleep. I see power drop to ~ 4mA during Light Sleep between beacons. It will go lower than 4mA, but you have to disable all timers (which loses the WiFi connection).

Depending on the DTIM listen interval Light Sleep runs at, you may miss packets in Station mode. If you can't afford to lose data, then you will want to use the default Modem Sleep instead (~15mA between TIM beacons, but no lost data). You don't have to do anything in your code to get Modem Sleep, it's running soon after you establish a connection. If you have frequent 'idle' calls in your program you'll see the power drop. For the Arduino IDE, 'idle' = delay(). Without 'idle', the modem never sleeps and substrate current is ~70mA.