compile problem on v0.9.5 .

younger
Posts: 39
Joined: Mon Dec 29, 2014 1:49 pm

compile problem on v0.9.5 .

Postby younger » Wed Jan 28, 2015 5:29 pm

Hi Espressif:
I just want to add smartconfig(smartconfig_start) into the IOT_demo,but it compiles with a problem:

Code: Select all

make: Warning: File `.output/eagle/debug/image/eagle.app.v6.out' has modification time 14 s in the future
xtensa-lx106-elf-gcc  -L../lib -nostdlib -T../ld/eagle.app.v6.new.512.app1.ld -Wl,--no-check-sections -u call_user_start -Wl,-static -Wl,--start-group -lc -lgcc -lhal -lphy -lpp -lnet80211 -llwip -lwpa -lmain -ljson -lssl -lupgrade -lsmartconfig user/.output/eagle/debug/lib/libuser.a driver/.output/eagle/debug/lib/libdriver.a -Wl,--end-group -o .output/eagle/debug/image/eagle.app.v6.out
/opt/xtensa-lx106-elf/bin/../lib/gcc/xtensa-lx106-elf/4.8.2/../../../../xtensa-lx106-elf/bin/ld: .output/eagle/debug/image/eagle.app.v6.out section `.irom0.text' will not fit in region `irom0_0_seg'
collect2: error: ld returned 1 exit status
make: *** [.output/eagle/debug/image/eagle.app.v6.out] Error 1


But if I compile without "user_esp_platform_init();" and "user_webserver_init(SERVER_PORT);" , it will be OK. why? :shock:

Her Majesty
Posts: 305
Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2014 11:09 am

Re: compile problem on v0.9.5 .

Postby Her Majesty » Thu Jan 29, 2015 11:13 am

:lol:
That means your source code is too large to fit in .. try to compile as 1024KB flash , and use a 1024KB flash..

younger
Posts: 39
Joined: Mon Dec 29, 2014 1:49 pm

Re: compile problem on v0.9.5 .

Postby younger » Thu Jan 29, 2015 1:37 pm

Her Majesty wrote::lol:
That means your source code is too large to fit in .. try to compile as 1024KB flash , and use a 1024KB flash..


No ,I use "make COMPILE=gcc BOOT=new APP=1 FLASH=1024" , it also compiles error.
user_main.rar
(1.02 KiB) Downloaded 225 times

ESP_Faye
Posts: 1638
Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2014 11:08 am

Re: compile problem on v0.9.5 .

Postby ESP_Faye » Thu Jan 29, 2015 3:44 pm

Yes,log “section `.irom0.text' will not fit in region `irom0_0_seg'” means your source code is too large to fit in
1、you can compile it as 1024KB flash and use 1024KB flash
2、delete some useless source code to make it fit in

:oops:
If you need to compile as 1024 new,please unzip the attachment and replace them in \esp_iot_sdk_v0.9.5\ld

sorry for the inconvenience.

Thanks for your interest in ESP8266 !
Attachments
ld_1024.zip
(2.82 KiB) Downloaded 98 times

younger
Posts: 39
Joined: Mon Dec 29, 2014 1:49 pm

Re: compile problem on v0.9.5 .

Postby younger » Thu Jan 29, 2015 4:16 pm

Espressif_Faye wrote:Yes,log “section `.irom0.text' will not fit in region `irom0_0_seg'” means your source code is too large to fit in
1、you can compile it as 1024KB flash and use 1024KB flash
2、delete some useless source code to make it fit in

:oops:
If you need to compile as 1024 new,please unzip the attachment and replace them in \esp_iot_sdk_v0.9.5\ld

sorry for the inconvenience.

Thanks for your interest in ESP8266 !


Hi Espressif:
yes,if i use 1024kb compile ,it will be OK.
But the compile result: user1.1024.new.bin just 221kB, in 512kB flash ,the user1 bin size could be 236kB ,remain 15kb !
why ? :cry:

younger
Posts: 39
Joined: Mon Dec 29, 2014 1:49 pm

Re: compile problem on v0.9.5 .

Postby younger » Thu Jan 29, 2015 4:58 pm

OH, I have found it.
The .irom0.text size is 0x2e2a4, and the limit is 0x2B000, so compile error.

So I just want to know what " .irom0.text " contains ?
:idea:

ESP_Faye
Posts: 1638
Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2014 11:08 am

Re: compile problem on v0.9.5 .

Postby ESP_Faye » Fri Jan 30, 2015 9:50 am

Hi,
methods with "ICACHE_FLASH_ATTR" in irom0_0_seg
methods without "ICACHE_FLASH_ATTR" in iram1_0_seg

You could try this http://bbs.espressif.com/viewtopic.php?f=10&t=166

Or try to remove "ICACHE_FLASH_ATTR" from some methods, so they will be compiled to iram1_0_seg area.

Thanks for your interest in ESP8266 !

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests