Page 1 of 1

WPS do not work if more that one AP with the same SSID

Posted: Sat Aug 06, 2016 10:29 pm
by faeton
Hi,

I have problem with WPS. If I set the same SSID on two AP (routers), then the WPS do not work.
My SDK is:
1.5.4.1(39cb9a32)
Log:

Code: Select all

mode : null
mode : sta(18:fe:34:d1:8a:9c)
add if0
wifi_wps_enable
wps scan
build public key start
build public key finish
f r0, scandone
f r0, scandone
f r0, wps discover [myssid]
scandone
WPS: neg start
f r0, scandone
state: 0 -> 2 (b0)
state: 2 -> 3 (0)
state: 3 -> 0 (d)

At this moment the function passed to wifi_set_event_handler_cb is called:

Code: Select all

disconnect from ssid myssid, reason 203

After about 2 minutes the function passed to wifi_set_wps_cb is called with argument WPS_CB_ST_TIMEOUT.

If the two AP have different SSID after step state: 2 -> 3 (0) is:

Code: Select all

state: 3 -> 5 (10)
add 0
aid 1
cnt
process pubkey start
process pubkey finish
WPS: key[mykey]
wps finished

Re: WPS do not work if more that one AP with the same SSID

Posted: Fri Mar 24, 2017 10:48 am
by ESP_Faye
Hi,

If you press the WPS button on both routers at the same time, the connection will fail.

Re: WPS do not work if more that one AP with the same SSID

Posted: Fri Feb 19, 2021 1:26 pm
by faeton
Hi, I back to the issue, I have it on SDK ver: 3.0.4(9532ceb).

The WPS is started only on one AP (further), upon second AP (closer) is the ESP8266 device.

The ESP see that WPS is started on further AP but tryies connect to closer (for credentials) what cause failure.

I do more investigation in the libwps.a (by disassemble it) and there the wifi_station_set_config and next wifi_station_connect is called, maybe in the structure passed to the station_set_config function the bssid is not set?

(sorry for same issue on git, but I forgot about this)