System stops after wdt reset

Daven007
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Sep 07, 2015 3:47 pm

System stops after wdt reset

Postby Daven007 » Mon Sep 07, 2015 3:55 pm

Sometimes the system stops after a wdt reset
e.g. output:

mac 662

ets Jan 8 2013,rst cause:4, boot mode:(1,6)

wdt reset

then nothing until reset button pressed.

Any ideas please or is this an SDK bug?

eriksl
Posts: 155
Joined: Fri May 22, 2015 6:22 pm

Re: System stops after wdt reset

Postby eriksl » Thu Sep 10, 2015 10:24 pm

If you need to reset the watchdog, you're doing something terribly wrong (which I believe I have written here more than once). And yes, then you can expect about everything. Re-write your code so you won't have to reset the watchdog and it will work.

nver
Posts: 24
Joined: Sun Apr 26, 2015 2:57 am

Re: System stops after wdt reset

Postby nver » Wed Sep 16, 2015 1:28 am

I agree that the code should be written such that it does not cause the watchdog reset.

However, if the watch dog timer is ever expired for whatever reasons, the system must reboot back and must not stuck waiting for someone to come and press the HW reset button. No matter what is the reason for wdog reset, at the end of the day its a kind of system Or CPU reset and system must re-start.

Btw thanks for the great chip.

costaud
Posts: 138
Joined: Fri Oct 24, 2014 7:40 pm

Re: System stops after wdt reset

Postby costaud » Wed Sep 16, 2015 2:20 pm

Daven007 wrote:Sometimes the system stops after a wdt reset
e.g. output:

mac 662

ets Jan 8 2013,rst cause:4, boot mode:(1,6)

wdt reset

then nothing until reset button pressed.

Any ideas please or is this an SDK bug?



Ok,I think the point is :

If a watchdog reset occurs, the chip would exactly go back to the same mode as the chip was in, when it was powered on last time.
That is , if you set the chip into download mode and download a firmware,then without a rebooting and run the code directly,
in this case, when there was a watchdog reset , the chip would of course go back to download mode.

So please make sure you reboot the chip and run in flash boot mode first.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests