ESP8266 Wizard 1.2.5 for Visual Studio 2015 with FlashTool and Intellisense

Fleuve
Posts: 24
Joined: Wed Dec 09, 2015 1:16 pm

ESP8266 Wizard 1.2.5 for Visual Studio 2015 with FlashTool and Intellisense

Postby Fleuve » Mon Mar 07, 2016 2:55 am

**********************************************
OBSOLETE: Use ESP8266 Wizard 1.2.6 for Visual Studio
**********************************************
Last edited by Fleuve on Fri Mar 31, 2017 9:11 pm, edited 19 times in total.

tilz0R
Posts: 38
Joined: Sat Dec 26, 2015 8:36 pm
Contact:

Re: ESP8266 Wizard for Visual Studio 2015

Postby tilz0R » Tue Mar 08, 2016 5:00 pm

After installation I got error that some files or folders are missing.

Error comes when I click on New Project in VS and select ESP8266.

Win10 x64

Fleuve
Posts: 24
Joined: Wed Dec 09, 2015 1:16 pm

Re: ESP8266 Wizard for Visual Studio 2015

Postby Fleuve » Fri Mar 11, 2016 1:57 am

tilz0R wrote:After installation I got error that some files or folders are missing.


Read Installation troubleshooting inside New post, it's gonna resume the suspected cause of crash. If problem persist send me the content of your ESP8266Diag.txt.

Dooglas
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Apr 21, 2016 1:45 pm

Re: ESP8266 Wizard 1.2.4 for Visual Studio 2015 with FlashTool and Intellisense

Postby Dooglas » Thu Apr 21, 2016 2:38 pm

Hi! I'm using Visual Studio 2015 update 2. Installation writes: "Any valid version of Visual Studio was detected. Please ensure that have Visual Studio installed." How can I install it?
ESP8266Diag:

Code: Select all

*** DTE CHECK ******************************************************************************
Checking for HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\VisualStudio.DTE.10.0 : NOT FOUND
Checking for HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\VisualStudio.DTE.11.0 : NOT FOUND
Checking for HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\VisualStudio.DTE.12.0 : NOT FOUND
Checking for HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\VisualStudio.DTE.14.0 : FOUND
   Checking for VisualStudioLocation inside HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\VisualStudio\14.0 : FOUND
      VisualStudioLocation=D:\visual studio 2015

*** VSIX CHECK ******************************************************************************
Current DTE regkey at : HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\VisualStudio\14.0 : FOUND
   Checking for current VisualStudioLocation inside HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\VisualStudio\14.0 : FOUND
      Current VisualStudioLocation=D:\visual studio 2015

*** Folder CHECK ******************************************************************************
Checking for Folder [D:\visual studio 2015\XtensaTools] : FOUND
Checking for Folder [D:\visual studio 2015\XtensaTools\ESPressif] : FOUND

Fleuve
Posts: 24
Joined: Wed Dec 09, 2015 1:16 pm

Re: ESP8266 Wizard 1.2.4 for Visual Studio 2015 with FlashTool and Intellisense

Postby Fleuve » Wed May 04, 2016 11:25 am

Hello Dooglas and sorry for the delay. I'm working on a DirectX App at this moment.

Dooglas wrote:

Code: Select all

*** Folder CHECK ******************************************************************************
Checking for Folder [D:\visual studio 2015\XtensaTools] : FOUND
Checking for Folder [D:\visual studio 2015\XtensaTools\ESPressif] : FOUND



Like I can see, You already have a version installed inside D:\Visual Studio 2015.... I know some user get trouble about installation, but If you have some time I will check with you for the issue.

1. Which version was already install on your computer?
2. Which version you will install?... I'm suppose 1.2.4
3. Which version of windows you have?... I'm suppose Windows 10 64bits
4. Does D:\visual studio 2015\XtensaTools was empty or contain near 400 meg?
5. After uninstall inside uninstall config panel... Does D:\visual studio 2015\XtensaTools still exist
6. I've you try to reinstall... Does Reinstall message pop-up appears.
7. Check Inside visual studio 2015 extension manager to uninstall both plugins (diag and wizard)
8. Have you try to force to execute setup with administrator ?
9. Have you already find the issue?

For my part the setup work well on my 3 computer. I'm amazed about the error... Specially if a previous version was found.

Waiting your respond.

Reallife
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed May 11, 2016 9:50 pm

Re: ESP8266 Wizard 1.2.4 for Visual Studio 2015 with FlashTool and Intellisense

Postby Reallife » Wed May 11, 2016 9:55 pm

Hi

i found some Problems.

The File extracts in "C:\Users\...\Downloads\%USERPROFILE%\Documents\Visual Studio 2015", not in the Visual Studio 2015 directory.

In XtensaGcc and XtensaLD you use E:\Home\Visual Studio 2015\ instead of $(VisualStudioDir).

Try your Installer in a Clean VMWare Image.

Fleuve
Posts: 24
Joined: Wed Dec 09, 2015 1:16 pm

Re: ESP8266 Wizard 1.2.4 for Visual Studio 2015 with FlashTool and Intellisense

Postby Fleuve » Sat May 28, 2016 12:12 am

Reallife wrote:Try your Installer in a Clean VMWare Image.


Thanks for your support!

For the moment I've fix some bug inside 1.2.5.

I'm gonna take some time to grab stuff to test on VM VirtualBox to fix install bug. For the moment after your bug list, i considerate stable enough, if only you pass setup :D

thomas55
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue May 31, 2016 5:39 pm

Re: ESP8266 Wizard 1.2.5 for Visual Studio 2015 with FlashTool and Intellisense

Postby thomas55 » Tue May 31, 2016 5:53 pm

Hello,
I installed the software (win7, VirtualBox win8.1, VirtualBox win10) and had to extend the path to 'ExtensaTools'.
Then, to create a project in the attempt came the 'ESP Wizard'... but with no contents in the fields. Nothing goes.
No SDK release.
No SDK Version.
No Empty Project.

What did I do wrong???
Ask for help.
Greetings from Berlin, Thomas

thomas55
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue May 31, 2016 5:39 pm

Re: ESP8266 Wizard 1.2.5 for Visual Studio 2015 with FlashTool and Intellisense

Postby thomas55 » Mon Jun 06, 2016 5:52 pm

Is there no one who can help or there is no user?

Fleuve
Posts: 24
Joined: Wed Dec 09, 2015 1:16 pm

Re: ESP8266 Wizard 1.2.5 for Visual Studio 2015 with FlashTool and Intellisense

Postby Fleuve » Mon Jun 06, 2016 11:54 pm

thomas55 wrote:... and had to extend the path to 'ExtensaTools'.


What do you mean by extend path?

For the moment, any configuration can't support a Base Folder renaming, because it's hard coded inside the dll. That's mean XtensaTools including is sub-folder can't be rename. Ok, you can add new release or version inside ESPressif. but XtensaTools\ESPressif folder can't be change.

Code: Select all

void virtual RunStarted(Object^ automationObject, Dictionary<String^, String^>^ replacementsDictionary, WizardRunKind runKind,
                                      array<System::Object ^, 1>^ customParams)
{
   m_dte = (DTE^)automationObject;

   Destination = replacementsDictionary["$destinationdirectory$"];
   ProjectName = replacementsDictionary["$projectname$"];

   MainDlg.BaseFolder = (String^)Registry::GetValue("HKEY_CURRENT_USER\\" + m_dte->RegistryRoot, "VisualStudioLocation", "") +
                                      "\\XtensaTools\\ESPressif\\";
   if (!IO::Directory::Exists(MainDlg.BaseFolder))
   {
      MessageBox::Show("Some folder seem missing, please repair or reinstall");
      throw gcnew WizardBackoutException("");
   }
   


Your stuff must be inside (all pointing to same)
[*]$(VisualStudioDir)\XtensaTools
[*]"HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Visual Studio\<version>\" -> VisualStudioLocation\XtensaTools

check
[*]Your windows registry key
[*]Your Visual Studio $(VisualStudioDir) macro

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: MSN [Bot] and 6 guests