WPS (Wi-Fi Protected Setup) in SDK

russus
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Nov 10, 2016 8:56 pm

Re: WPS (Wi-Fi Protected Setup) in SDK

Postby russus » Tue Nov 29, 2016 1:45 am

gjump,

I can't express enough how much I appreciate your time and efforts in explaining this. It became crystal clear and finally worked :) !!!

I thought of the role of key_init_single(...) in a very wrong way. It seemed to me that it somehow emulates a physical push.

Well, I am very new to this stuff. I hope you can forgive me ;)

gjump
Posts: 19
Joined: Thu Nov 24, 2016 6:24 am

Re: WPS (Wi-Fi Protected Setup) in SDK

Postby gjump » Tue Nov 29, 2016 1:56 am

Russus, no problem at all, we are here to help and get helped.
Can you provide the model of your router? And the encryption used(WPA, WPA2, TKIP/AES...).

-Sheers

russus
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Nov 10, 2016 8:56 pm

Re: WPS (Wi-Fi Protected Setup) in SDK

Postby russus » Tue Nov 29, 2016 2:23 pm

Can you provide the model of your router? And the encryption used(WPA, WPA2, TKIP/AES...).


Asus rt-ac51u Dual Band. Encryption - WPA2(AES)


My next step now is to try triggering WPS from my main microcontroller which is connected to ESP.

dalbert
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Jul 22, 2017 7:59 pm

Re: WPS (Wi-Fi Protected Setup) in SDK

Postby dalbert » Sat Jul 22, 2017 8:01 pm

I have been able to establish connections via WPS successfully to several types of 802.11n access points but connections fail to 802.11ac access points; has anyone else had this problem?

dalbert
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Jul 22, 2017 7:59 pm

Re: WPS (Wi-Fi Protected Setup) in SDK

Postby dalbert » Sat Jul 22, 2017 8:58 pm

Access Points tested and working with ESP8266 WPS: Trendnet TEW-652, Belkin N300
Access Points tested and failing with ESP8266 WPS: AT&T/Pace 5268AC and Asus TM-AC1900

(tested with SDK version: 1.5.3(aec24ac9)

dalbert
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Jul 22, 2017 7:59 pm

Re: WPS (Wi-Fi Protected Setup) in SDK

Postby dalbert » Sat Sep 23, 2017 5:29 pm

Part of the problem turns out to be free RAM. The 802.11ac WPS process requires considerably more free RAM than for 802.11a/b/g/n. My application had some large statically allocated tables. When I changed these to be dynamically allocated after WPS completed, it worked properly for some access points. It still fails for many others. tested with SDK 1.5.3 and 2.1.0.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests